strawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies

strawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies | the thoughtful plateThese cookies were baked 11 days ago, on the same day that I photographed crêpes. The edited photos have just been sitting pretty in Lightroom for 9 days, while I try to overcome a case of writers’ block. Since I actually don’t consider myself a writer in the person-who-lives-to-put-words-to-paper sense, I’m not sure I can even claim that particular condition.

strawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies | the thoughtful plateI take photos because I love to. I blog because I want to. I write because I have to.

strawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies | the thoughtful plateWhen everything in me wants to insert a slew of photos punctuated by a recipe at the end, I force myself to say something. And I try to make it deeper than, “This is really good. You should make this.”

strawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies | the thoughtful platestrawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies | the thoughtful plateAll of that to say this: these cookies are really good, and you probably should make them if you want to :)

I gave them an extra yummy burst of flavor with some zest of a Meyer lemon, used my favorite organic strawberry jam from Trader Joe’s, and rolled them in organic almonds grown by dear friends. They were a lovely deviation from the direction I normally head with cookies (read: chocolate chocolate chocolate).

This is all I’ve got for you today, friends. Thanks for reading. Happy baking. Stay warm.

strawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies | the thoughtful platestrawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies | print recipe
recipe adapted from flourishing foodie

½ cup butter, at room temperature
½ cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg, separated
1¼ cups all-purpose flour (i only use organic these days)
Pinch of salt
¾ cup almonds, chopped
Strawberry jam

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

Cream the butter and sugar together in a medium mixing bowl. Add the vanilla and egg yolk and beat until light and fluffy. Add the flour and salt and mix on low speed until just combined.

Lightly whisk the egg white in a small bowl, and place the chopped almonds in a separate small bowl. Scoop cookies by the tablespoonful and roll them into balls between your palms.

Dip and roll each cookie ball into the egg white, coating it lightly all the way around, then dip and roll in the chopped almonds. Set the almond-coated cookies a couple of inches apart on the baking sheet.

When all of the cookies have been dipped, use the back of a wooden spoon to slightly flatten each cookie. Use the end of the handle to make a small indent, roughly the width of a penny, on top of each cookie.

Scoop a few tablespoons of jam into a piping bag or a small ziploc with a small hole cut in one corner, and pipe each indentation full of strawberry jam.

Bake for 18-20 minutes and allow to cool completely on a wire rack.

Makes about 20 cookies.

2 thoughts on “strawberry almond lemon thumbprint cookies

Leave a Reply

