what i cooked | january

brussels sproutsHappy Saturday, folks!

What ends up on my blog is, for one reason or another, only a fraction of the things I actually make in any given month. Most often it’s because the scones I made at 8pm can’t be photographed at that time, or I’m unwilling to let my portion of the dinner I made for my family get cold while I take it outside to take pictures. We enjoy everything that I share on here, and some things are just easier to intercept before we dig in :)

Anyways, I’m always looking for ways to infuse a bit more real life into this space, and also to share those things which I make after dark.

Enter this new monthly column, What I Cooked. At the end of each month, I’ll be sharing in list form most of the things I cooked or baked over the course of the month, along with links to the books or sites where the recipes can be found.

I hope you enjoy it. I’d also love to know what the best thing you make each month is, so leave a comment and let’s inspire each other!

xo

+ + + + + + + + + +

01 | pretzel cinnamon rolls from top with cinnamon
02 | cinnamon ice cream from davidlebovitz.com
03 | lavender ice cream from sweet cream and sugar cones (regular sugar instead of honey)
04 | black sesame ice cream from bojongourmet.com (no chocolate)
05 | tomato-glazed meatloaves from the smitten kitchen cookbook
06 | browned butter mashed potatoes from the smitten kitchen cookbook
07 | mini berry cobblers adapted from sprouted kitchen
08 | maple pecan scones from the cheese board: collective works
09 | almond toffee from sweet cream and sugar cones
10 | coffee toffee ice cream from sweet cream and sugar cones
11 | sugar cones from sweet cream and sugar cones
12 | whole wheat pasta from the glorious pasta of italy
13 | brown sugar ice cream with ginger-caramel swirl from sweet cream and sugar cones
14 | barbecue chicken with alabama white barbecue sauce from food52
15 | oat scones from the cheese board: collective works
16 | coconut macaroon brownies from top with cinnamon
17 | sweet and sticky pork from top with cinnamon
18 | spicy orange-ginger chicken from food52
19 | chocolate ice cream from sweet cream and sugar cones
20 | yeasted pizza crust from the cheese board: collective works
21 | chocolate almond milkshakes from my blog!
22 | brown sugar ice cream with ginger-caramel swirl from sweet cream and sugar cones (again)

P.S. Total ice cream egg yolk count for January: 40

+ + + + + + + + + +

What was the best thing you made this month?

4 thoughts on “what i cooked | january

  1. since i was on the sugar free diet for the month of january, i always had a hankering for something sweet. so….i found a sugar-free apple muffin recipe! it was sweetened with natural honey and it was sooooooo yummy and everyone loved it! i’ve made it like 3 times within the period of a week and a half. XD that was probably the best thing i made this month! :)

  2. My slow roasted lemon rosemary chicken,,, yummy,,, great idea here too, i just cant figure out the link deal on here,, but I’m a newbie bloggette,,, :)

Leave a Reply

