salad with apples and almonds

IMG_9222It occurred to me that a brief perusal of this blog would lead you to believe that I basically only ever eat sweet things and carb-y things. I mean, 1/5 of the first page of recent posts fits into either or both of those categories.

Simply- that is not all I eat. In reality, I practically eat my weight in salad each week, and then I eat my weight again in miscellaneous fruits and vegetables at breakfast and dinner. I eat a lot of tacos too, but that’s irrelevant for our purposes today.

IMG_9219The reasons a lot of that doesn’t show up here are complicated and distressing, and I don’t like to think about them, but here are two:

01 | I don’t really make new and exciting things at lunchtime. Dinner is when I go all out.
02 | Do you know that the sun has been gone by 6:30pm every day for quite some time now?

IMG_9193IMG_9209Anyways, one of my goals for this blog space is to really try harder to get more fresh lunch and dinner recipes up. It would help tremendously if I could please just have a kitchen with a nice window in it and if it could be perpetually summer. (Clearly this goal is going to take effort and dedication.)

I got a head start on that goal today and put in the extra effort required to shoot my lunch as I made it.

IMG_9234IMG_9247This salad is one of my favorites, and gosh, it’s simple. The most labor intensive part of the recipe, I suppose, would be chopping the apple, and even that only takes like 2 seconds. The dressing only needs three ingredients.

I’ve made other versions of this salad before in the past, but got quite hooked on it in November when Micah and I made it with persimmons and strawberries. (Please make this with fuyu persimmons instead of apples, if you can get some.) Whether you use apples or persimmons, it’s a delicious salad.

IMG_9237salad with apples and almonds | print recipe

A few leafs of lettuce, washed, dried, torn
½ of a small crisp apple, cut into pieces
Small handful of toasted almonds
Feta cheese, crumbled

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon seasoned rice vinegar
Small clove of garlic, crushed

Place all of the dressing ingredients in a small jar and shake or whisk until emulsified.

Combine the lettuce and apple in a small bowl. Pour the dressing on top; toss to coat.

Place the salad on a plate and sprinkle with the almonds and feta cheese.

One thought on “salad with apples and almonds

Leave a Reply

