cherry pie bars

IMG_4533-6I have two different approaches when it comes to composing blog posts.

Sometimes, I write the body text first. Words come, I type them, and it feels really good. When that happens, all that’s left are the parts that come easiest to me: recipe + photos. Blogging is fun when this happens.

Other times, I write the recipe first. Then I go fiddle with the photo editing. All the while, my mind is turning. Words, where are you??

IMG_4495-1Oh, that’s right. I reached my word output limit yesterday. On that test I’ve been dreading since before I even started college. The writing test. The one where you have to produce two essays inside of 70 minutes, on a subject you may or may not know/care anything about.

IMG_4496-2So if you’re wondering where I’ve been all week, I’ve been in a virtual hole just studying and writing a lot. I also second-shot a wedding on Saturday, instead of making ice cream as per usual. A few days ago, however, I managed to sneak away from my books for an hour or so of kitchen therapy.

IMG_4528-5I made these cherry pie bars, which are fantastic, and I wanted to share them with you before the 4th of July because they’d be a good party choice if you’re looking for something to make. Or if you just need to get away from something for a little kitchen therapy as well, these would be perfect for that too.

IMG_4513-4Though the recipe uses frozen cherries, which are definitely easy to find, I’m already dreaming about using fresh blackberries or raspberries sometime soon. I think it would be super!

Until next time, which will hopefully be sooner than later. Hopefully words will flow easier as well :)

P.S. Happy birthday, America!

IMG_4540-7cherry pie bars | print recipe

Recipe adapted from Joy the Baker

C R U S T
1 cup gluten-free flour (or all-purpose)
¼ cup almond meal
¼ cup oat flour
¾ cup powdered sugar
¼ teaspoon salt
¾ cup butter, room temperature
¼ cup old-fashioned oats

F I L L I N G
2 large eggs
½ cup sugar
⅓ cup flour
½ cup sour cream
1 tablespoon lemon juice
¼ teaspoon salt
1½ cups frozen cherries, thawed, drained, cut in half


Position an oven rack in the upper third, and preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly coat a 9×9-inch metal baking pan with cooking spray, then line with two perpendicular rectangles of parchment paper. Lightly coat the parchment with cooking spray as well. Set aside.

Next, make the crust and crumb topping. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, almond meal, oat flour, powdered sugar, and salt. Mix the butter in with a wooden spoon. It will take a minute for it to begin to incorporate; just keep stirring, but stop while the butter is still in fairly large chunks and there are still dry spots. Take ½ cup of the dough out and place it in a separate bowl. Set aside.

Continue to stir the remaining dough until it becomes soft and smooth. Transfer the dough to the prepared baking pan and gently spread it out into the pan with your fingers. Bake it for about 15 minutes, until the edges turn golden brown.

While the crust is baking, finish the crumb topping by mixing the reserved dough with the oats. Set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, flour, sour cream, lemon juice, and salt.

When the partially baked crust comes out of the oven, place the cherries all over the crust. Gently pour the filling over the cherries, and sprinkle the crumb topping over the top.

Bake for 25-35 minutes. I feel like I underbaked mine slightly, but they’re still good, so this is a bit forgiving. The filling should be set and only jiggle a little bit, if at all.

Let the bars cool before slicing and serving.

5 thoughts on “cherry pie bars

  1. Ah Maci I’m so excited to finally check these out! They look so delicious. I totally understand where you’re coming from too. It can sometimes be so hard to try and balance doing school work and preparing for that all while saving a little of that creativity for blogging. I’m in the same boat, so I definitely understand. But you’re doing a wonderful job as always! Hope you had a wonderful 4th of July! :)

    • Are you making them?? I can’t wait to see/hear how you like them! :) Probably any blogger who is also in college could agree that we certainly don’t have it all together all the time, but I don’t know what I’d do without this space. I’m just learning to go with the flow of the difficult weeks as well as the easy weeks. Thanks for identifying with me; I know you get it :)

  2. Ah Maci I’m so excited to finally check these out! They look so delicious! I totally understand what you’re saying too, it can be so hard to try and balance school work and attempting to save some of that creativity for blogging too, but you’re doing an amazing job as always! Hope you had a great 4th of July!

  3. Also I’m just discovering your other blog and am just as obsessed with your blogging over there as I am here! :)

Leave a Reply

