quick iced coffee + raw sugar simple syrup

 Happy Saturday! I’m popping in with a super quick post about my iced coffee method before I head into the kitchen to make some ice cream :)

. . . . . . . . . .

Too often iced coffee ends up tasting old and flat. I haven’t studied the science behind this; I just know that I like my coffee (hot or iced) to taste fresh. (I got this from my dad.)

I’ve tried the cold brew method once before, but it takes soooooo long. And when I decide I want iced coffee, I usually would prefer to be drinking it within ten minutes and not the next afternoon.

 This is my solution, and it’s basically an instantly iced pour-over. Half of the water that would normally be poured over the coffee is instead placed under the filter in the glass in the form of ice.

 The rest of the water is poured over the coffee grounds, which melts the ice, which cools the whole thing down. New ice is added, along with a little raw sugar simple syrup (or not), a little half and half (or almond milk, soy, etc. or not), and there you have it! Fresh iced coffee well inside of ten minutes.

  quick iced coffee

Note: You’ll have to have a brewing cone for this method. I have a simple black plastic one, which can be found at Bed Bath & Beyond for under $4. There are millions of other options though. If you’re a coffee drinker, I promise this purchase will be well worth the few dollars. I use it all winter for hot coffee in the afternoon, and now all summer for iced coffee :)

½ ounce freshly ground coffee
3.5 ounces ice
4 ounces almost boiling water

Set the brewing cone over a glass or jar. Place a filter in the cone, and pour a few ounces of hot water over the filter. Pour the water out of the glass and set it on a scale.

Measure the ice into the glass, and set the cone back on top. Place the coffee grounds into the filter. Pour about 1.5 ounces of water over the coffee and wait for it to drain through, then continue to gently pour the remaining water over the grounds in a circular motion.

Discard the coffee filter, stir the coffee until most of the ice melts, pour over fresh ice, and add cream and sugar (see below) to your liking.

raw sugar simple syrup
½ cup raw sugar
½ cup water

Bring the sugar and water to a boil. Boil for 4 minutes, until the mixture is thick and reduced. Pour into a glass jar and store in the fridge.

*The very best iced coffee I have ever had the pleasure of drinking in my entire life can be found at Philz Coffee. Their “Ecstatic Iced Coffee” is worthy of being added to any bucket list.

2 thoughts on “quick iced coffee + raw sugar simple syrup

Leave a Reply

