simple donuts with salted caramel chocolate glaze

 I don’t know of anyone who’s day life is not made better with a donut. Or two.

 When I was younger, my mom would take my brother and I to Mr. T’s Delicate Donut (I just love the full name of that place, but in real life it’s referred to simply as Mr. T’s) almost every Sunday morning before church. It was one of those “if we iron our clothes the night before and get out of the house on time” incentives. You may have your own version; personally, I’m glad mine involved donuts because maple bars from Mr. T’s are the cat’s meow.

 This ritual basically made every Sunday a sort of National Donut Day. Back then, I don’t think established food days were on my radar. But now they are, and I think it’s marvelous that someone has declared an official day for donuts. Of course, this should not negate the fact that any day is worthy of donut-eating. But on June 6 (tomorrow), we get to celebrate donuts.

 I’m celebrating with these. Simple donuts that taste faintly of vanilla and nutmeg, dipped in a simple glaze inspired by the swirl in my favorite ice cream. Sprinkles are involved (this is a holiday after all). I made my own according to these instructions from Food52. Because I don’t believe in artificial food coloring, I made mine chocolate, with instant espresso powder + water instead of vanilla extract. I call them mocha sprinkles.

 Before we get on to the recipe, I thought it would be fun to have some other people share what they love about donuts. The results are in… (Thanks friends who answered my question on Facebook and Instagram!)

M.S. said, “Everything”.

S.B. said, “The glaze!! Or jelly if it’s a jelly donut.”

A.V. said, “I love the fact that it’s like I get to eat dessert for breakfast and not feel bad about it ;)”

P.B. said, “They’re light and airy and sweet and yummy!”

C.B. said, “Light, fluffy, yumminess!”

S.W. said, “What I love about donuts is that they are sweet and soft. Yum!”

M.M. said, “My favorite thing about donuts is actually the donut hole.” (Side note: this smart girl once had a tower of donuts for her birthday party in lieu of a cake. True story. I was there.)

S.A. said, “All the different toppings of course!”

C.B. said, “They are fluffy and delicious. And you can put all sorts of things on them: maple, CHOCOLATE, sprinkles… Duh. Obvs donuts are amazing.”

D.J. said, “I love the doughy, fluffy, sugary goodness. I also like how you can eat it with your hands. I think the hole was perfectly designed to be a thumb hole for optimum holding ;)”

J.J. said, “The fact that so much awesomeness can be stuffed inside an inner-tube shaped pastry goes to show that there is hope in this world.”

And we will end on that note. What do you love about donuts?

  Donut recipe adapted from The Faux Martha

D O N U T S
1 cup gluten free all purpose flour (or regular flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon sea salt
⅛ teaspoon fresh nutmeg, grated
3 tablespoons butter, melted
¼ cup sugar
2 tablespoons honey
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
⅓ cup + 1 tablespoon buttermilk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly coat a donut pan with cooking spray.

In a small bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Set aside.

Melt the butter in a small pan and remove the pan from the heat as soon as the butter is melted. Whisk in the sugar, then the honey, then the egg and vanilla. Transfer this mixture to a medium bowl and whisk in the buttermilk.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until just combined.

Divide the batter evenly among the donut pan cavities, filling to about ⅛-inch under the top of the pan.

Bake the donuts for 7 minutes. Let the donuts cool in the pan for 1 minute, then transfer them to a cooling rack. Repeat with the rest of the batter. Allow the donuts to cool completely before glazing.

G L A Z E
2 tablespoons salted caramel sauce (I already had this one in the fridge)
1 tablespoon Dutch-processed cocoa powder
2-3 tablespoons half-and-half
½ cup (60 grams) powdered sugar

Whisk all of the ingredients together in a small bowl. Adjust the half-and-half amount until the proper consistency is achieved.

. . . . . . . . .

Dip the donuts in the glaze (twice, if you like), then eat them.

Makes 12 donuts

9 thoughts on “simple donuts with salted caramel chocolate glaze

Leave a Reply

