single lady molten chocolate cake

IMG_6980As a long-time reader of Joy the Baker, I marched myself into Barnes & Noble and left with her cookbook the week it was released. I waited to even open it until I got home later that afternoon; I wanted to devote my full attention to a read-through, and locate some post-it notes :)

The first recipe I tried from the book was for browned butter chocolate chip cookies. Those quickly became our favorite. I also made the chocolate malted bread pudding… SO good. Oh my word.

IMG_6979Then there’s this cake. I’ve seen it a hundred times and I just tried it for the first time last week. Why I waited so long is something I may never understand!

I do understand, however, that life will never be the same. I’ve baked this four times already in a little over one week. Slightly ridiculous? It’s possible. I like to think it’s totally normal though.

IMG_6981The first word that comes to mind when I think of this little cake is… revolutionary. Because even if no one else feels like having cake for dessert, you can have cake for dessert- within 20 minutes! It’s not just plain chocolate cake either. It’s molten chocolate cake. There’s a big difference, at least to me. Chocolate cake I can take or leave. Gooey-center chocolate cake is a different story.

IMG_6978Two more things: You can easily make this gluten free! I use this homemade all-purpose blend, but you can use your favorite gluten free flour and I’m sure it will work fine. If you’re not gluten free, just use regular flour.

Also, I have quadrupled the recipe with perfect results to accommodate my family. So I’m sure you could double it, or triple it, etc. if you don’t happen to be a true single lady :)

Recipe adapted from the Joy the Baker Cookbook

1/4 cup chocolate chips
1 tablespoon butter
1 large egg
2-4 teaspoons sugar (original recipe calls for 4 tsp… I use 2 because I cut back on sugar wherever possible)
Pinch of salt
A couple drops of vanilla extract
1 teaspoon flour (I used a gluten free blend)

Cocoa powder and butter, for the ramekin

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Butter a ramekin and dust with cocoa powder. Set on a small baking sheet.

Place the chocolate chips and butter in a bowl and set it over a saucepan of simmering water. Stir occasionally until the mixture is melted and smooth. Remove the bowl from the heat and let it cool for a couple of minutes.

Meanwhile, beat the egg, sugar, and salt in another small bowl. Whisk the eggs into the chocolate until well combined. Add the vanilla and flour.

Pour the batter into the ramekin and bake for 7-12 minutes. The edges will be set but the center will look very melty. The longer it cooks, the less molten the center will become.

Remove from the oven and allow the cake to cool for 2 minutes. Run an offset spatula around the edge then invert the cake onto a plate. Eat immediately :)

5 thoughts on “single lady molten chocolate cake

  1. Ok. This looks really tasty. Love the photos. I just text Lynn about making these for thanksgiving with some homemade ice cream. Not traditional. I know. But yummy:)

Leave a Reply

