chocolate almond coconut chewies

IMG_6683There’s this cookie in the baked goods case at Whole Foods that I kind of have a thing for. It’s very similar to this cookie I’m sharing with you today, but no frills. Just plain chocolate, topped with walnuts. I think it’s the only thing in the case that’s gluten free, but I’m not complaining because I’d buy it anyways, even if I had a choice.

The “Cocoa Chewy” at Whole Foods is very chocolatey, very chewy (you’d hope so, right, since it’s called that), and almost brownie-like in texture. Kind of a brownie/cookie hybrid. An obvious choice!

IMG_6685These cookies are just like the cocoa chewy, but with the delicious twist of added coconut and almond. The shredded coconut lends even more chewiness to the cookie, and the almonds give it a pleasant crunch.

IMG_6688I won’t say how many of these I ate the day I baked them, or tell you about the one I just ate before sitting down to write this post. (Oops, I just did.) I am actually having to practice conscious self-control to stay glued to this chair and keep typing, because all I really want to do is go eat another cookie.

IMG_6686Recipe adapted from Shutterbean

3 cups powdered sugar
3/4 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon fine salt
3/4 cup chocolate chips (I like bittersweet)
1 cup roughly chopped toasted almonds
3/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
4 large egg whites, room temperature

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Sift the powdered sugar, cocoa powder, and salt together into a large mixing bowl. Mix in the chocolate chips, almonds, and coconut. Add the egg whites and stir with a wooden spoon until everything is combined.

Scoop rounded tablespoons of batter onto a parchment-lined baking sheet, spacing the cookies 2 tablespoons apart. (I used a small scoop for the job and got 38 cookies.) Bake for 15-18 minutes. The tops will look cracked and dry when the cookies are done. Cool almost completely on the pan, then transfer to a cooling rack. Repeat the process with the rest of the batter.

6 thoughts on “chocolate almond coconut chewies

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

