carrot-coconut soup

photo-146As much as I love blogs, Pinterest, and other Internet-based forms of inspiration, there’s still nothing quite like the printed magazine (except books… I adore books too). It’s something you can hold in your lap while manually turning its pages. Something a whole team of creative people work to compile month by month.

Currently I subscribe to Sunset and Bon Appetit. When I ordered these magazines, I made a mental promise to myself that I would try at least one recipe out of each of them every month. I sort of broke my promise. Now, as usual, I have a million post-it notes sticking out of my magazine stack and not much to show for it. This makes me feel so productive when I do make something out of a current issue though, since it’s a rarity.

As I flipped through the November issue of Bon Appetit this carrot-coconut soup caught my eye. It sounded like an interesting flavor combination, and I just happened to have an unengaged can of coconut milk in the pantry. It was one of those random Trader Joe’s purchases. You know, the “I don’t have the foggiest idea how I’m going to use this but I’ll buy it anyways” kind of purchase. Those are so much fun :)

photo-147There’s quite a bit of heat to this soup with just two tablespoons of sriracha. If you like things a bit more mild, you might start with half that. We like spicy, so it was perfect for us, but extra sriracha on top probably would have been too much. It’s all up to you!

Recipe from Bon Appetit

1/4 cup unsalted butter
1 pound carrots, peeled, chopped
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
Salt and pepper, to taste
2 cups chicken broth
13.5-oz. can unsweetened coconut milk (I used light coconut milk)
2 tablespoons Thai-style chili sauce, plus more for serving (I used Sriracha)
Fresh cilantro, for serving

Melt the butter over medium high heat in a large pot. I prefer to make soups in a Dutch oven, so that’s what I used. Add the onions and carrots and cook for 15-20 minutes, until the carrots are tender. Stir frequently and season with salt and pepper.

Add the chicken broth, coconut milk, and chili sauce. Once the soup is boiling, reduce heat to a simmer for about 45 minutes.

Turn off the heat and allow the soup to cool for a bit. Purée in a blender until completely smooth.

If you plan to serve right away, reheat the soup in a clean pot. If you’d like a thinner soup, add a little water. Taste for seasonings and add salt and pepper as desired.

Garnish with cilantro and and extra chili sauce.

Note: You can make the soup up to 3 days ahead. Just chill in an airtight container until you’re ready to heat and serve.

Leave a Reply

