roasted delicata squash

photo-138Hello, hello! Sorry for the silence around here lately. Maybe I sound like a broken record, but school has been to blame. This weekend specifically I spent a total of thirteen hours studying. Crazy, right? But I did pass the history test on Monday, so maybe it was worth it? I’m already deep into studying for my next history test coming up in a couple of weeks.

I’ve briefly mentioned before that I’m earning my bachelors degree in an unconventional way. Basically I’m taking CLEP, DSST, and similar tests and earning credit outside of the classroom. Next year I’ll transfer all of the credit to a university in New Jersey, take a couple of courses there, and graduate. I’ll have my BA in Liberal Studies in well under three years.

This method works well for me, but it does take quite a bit of work. Taking tests equivalent to 1-2 semesters of college work every 2-3 weeks requires learning a lot of information in a very short amount of time. Often, by test day, I feel like my brain is going to burst. But when I walk to my car and drive off campus after passing another exam, I feel so free. I open the sunroof, turn up the music, treat myself to something from Starbucks, go on a pinning spree, catch up on the blogs I haven’t had time for, call a friend, and just live. It feels wonderful. photo-139Then when I get home in the afternoon, I only want to be in the kitchen. It doesn’t matter what I make… most of the time it’s something simple that I’ve made a million times before. This week it was roasted squash. I mean, can it get any more basic?

Yet the process, the ritual, of chopping and tossing and getting your hands covered in olive oil is incredibly reviving. Not much thought is involved. It’s almost like being on auto-pilot. And then 30 minutes later, you get to pull something lovely and nourishing out of the oven :)

I think Delicata squash is one of the prettiest vegetables God created. Look at that color! And that scalloped and striped skin! I love it. It’s such a delicious winter side that can be whipped up fairly quickly, especially since there’s no need to peel this particular squash! Once roasted, the skin is actually a pleasing textural complement to the tender flesh. photo-137

2 Delicata squash, halved lengthwise, seeded, and sliced 1/2″ thick
Olive oil
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper, freshly ground
2-3 teaspoons fresh rosemary, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Pile the squash on and drizzle lightly with olive oil. Sprinkle the salt, pepper, and rosemary over the squash and then toss everything around with your clean hands. Spread into a single layer and roast for about 30 minutes, until tender when tested with a knife.

6 thoughts on “roasted delicata squash

Leave a Reply

