almond butter ice cream with salted caramel chocolate swirl

IMG_2685Today begins the three-day countdown to 41 whole days off of school, and I can hardly wait. Within the week I will be spending 8 days in the South Texas sun. Then I’m going to see the city of Austin, which I’ve heard so much about lately, for the first time ever. I’ll have less than a day to spend there, but that’s more than fine with me because my brother and I are hopping on a late afternoon flight to Oakland to spend 24 days at home! I suppose you could say I’m excited ;)
IMG_2683
IMG_2690My brain, however, is in that awkward position where it’s supposed to still be focusing on school but it’s totally already in vacation planning mode. You know, where you have to stop what you’re doing every 15 minutes because your subconscious is adding things to your packing list that you don’t want to forget. This could create quite a problem, but for some reason during one of the most uninspiring weeks of my life, I had this epiphany- almond butter ice cream.

IMG_2686I’ve seen a ton of peanut butter ice cream, but never any almond butter ice cream. I was curious about this partially because I have a peanut allergy, but also because almond butter is my favorite. How bad could it possibly be in ice cream?

IMG_2689I’m so glad to tell you that it’s not bad in. the. least. On the contrary- it is with great pride that I leave you with this ice cream as a parting recipe. Posts might be sparse over the next month as I’m off roaming the country, but perhaps I’ll keep you updated with some photos from my travels, and maybe even a restaurant review or two… we’ll see :)

IMG_2684almond butter ice cream | print recipe

For the ice cream:
1 cup milk
¾ cup sugar
Pinch of sea salt
¾ cup unsalted creamy almond butter
1 cup half and half
2 cups heavy cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For the salted caramel chocolate swirl:
½ cup sugar
¼ cup honey
1 cup heavy cream
¼ teaspoon sea salt
6 tablespoons Dutch-processed cocoa powder

First, make the swirl so it can be chilling as you continue with the ice cream. In a medium pot over moderate heat, allow the sugar to melt undisturbed. When it turns a deep copper color, whisk in the honey. Quickly whisk in the cream all at once until combined. Stir until it’s as smooth as possible. Some caramel might harden around the edges of the pot- that’s okay. Next, whisk in the salt and cocoa powder, and remove from the heat. Transfer to a bowl and allow it to chill in the refrigerator.

For the ice cream, heat the milk, sugar, and salt together in a small saucepan over medium heat until bubbles form at the edge and the sugar dissolves. Add the almond butter and whisk until thoroughly combined. Transfer to a mixing bowl and whisk in vanilla, half and half, and heavy cream. Chill in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Once the swirl is chilled it should be the consistency of thick frosting. Transfer all of it to a small plastic ziploc, and make a small cut on one of the bottom corners. (You’re making a fake piping bag.)

When the ice cream is done churning, spread a small layer on the bottom of the container you will be storing it in. Squeeze ribbons of fudge all over the surface. Spread another layer of ice cream, then squeeze another layer of fudge ribbons. Repeat the process until all of the ice cream has been layered. I had about 2 tablespoons of fudge leftover, but you should probably just sneak it in :) Don’t stir the ice cream at all- you want the swirl to be pronounced, not mixed in.

Cover and freeze until solid, then scoop!

IMG_2688{The swirl part of this recipe is my own mashup of this recipe and this recipe.}

One thought on “almond butter ice cream with salted caramel chocolate swirl

  1. Pingback: link love | etc.

Leave a Reply

