baked nectarines with gluten free crisp

IMG_2460I have so much love for stone fruits. Pretty much every summer of my life I try to decide if I like peaches or nectarines better, but I never come to any conclusion. I just love them all!

The one stone fruit I don’t particularly care for are plums, though I adore pluots… a cross between a plum and an apricot. My favorite variety is the Dapple Dandy.

IMG_2456Here’s a random fact for you: the pluot was created in my hometown! That’s definitely one of its finer claims-to-“fame”.

Anyways, my point (I do have one) is that you can really use whatever stone fruit you love and/or have on hand for this recipe. The gluten free crisp that goes on top is so delicious and would work well with anything.

IMG_2462 P.S. This is probably the quickest dessert in the history of baked desserts.

Recipe adapted from Minimalist Baker

6 ripe nectarines (or peaches, plums, pluots, etc.)
1/2 cup pecans
1/2 cup almond meal
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
5 tablespoons cold butter
1 cup old fashioned oats (certified gluten free, if necessary)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Slice each nectarine in half and remove pits. Place in a single layer in a 9- or 10-inch baking dish.

Place the pecans, almond meal, sea salt, and butter in the bowl of a food processor and pulse until the pecans are chopped. Add the oats and pulse about 6 times, just until everything is evenly combined. You don’t want the oats to break very much.

Sprinkle the un-crisp crisp over the nectarines in an even layer. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the fruit is soft and the crisp is golden brown. Serve alone or with vanilla ice cream.

One thought on “baked nectarines with gluten free crisp

  1. Pingback: Recipe // Baked Nectarine Gluten-Free Crisps + Vanilla Balsamic Reduction | Pardon My French

Leave a Reply

