cookies and cream ice cream

IMG_24111There are few things in the world that I love more than homemade ice cream. Growing up it was often eaten poolside during the summer, at Grandma’s house, out of a styrofoam bowl with a plastic spoon. If I recall correctly, we usually made one batch of vanilla and one of banana. I mostly remember the banana. My four cousins, brother, and I would line up and be served “scoops” of ice cream right out of the stainless steel canister. I put scoops in parentheses because ice cream in that state doesn’t have a very solid form. We ate it fresh, and most likely none of it ever saw the freezer.
IMG_2366I still LOVE ice cream that way- frozen but kind of not. I don’t know… it’s just so good! Sometimes halfway through a bowl of Breyers chocolate ice cream I’ll stir the rest and eat it like that.
IMG_2364Anyways, the extent of my homemade flavor experimentation has pretty much been vanilla, chocolate, banana, and strawberry. Nothing too crazy, but certainly delicious. Before the warm weather disappears I’d really like to make coffee ice cream, but today, I made cookies and cream! Another favorite.

If you read yesterday’s post you know that this inspiration came about whilst I read about intelligent Greek people (there was no connection between the Greeks I was reading about and ice cream. My mind can just be a totally random place at times). I made the cookies yesterday afternoon, and churned the vanilla ice cream today. Cookies got chopped and folded into ice cream. Success. So good.IMG_2368Ice cream recipe adapted from the manual that came with our very old Rival ice cream maker.

2 cups milk
1¼ cups sugar
½ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
3 cups half and half
3 cups heavy cream
About 20 chocolate cookies, chopped (this gave me about 3 cups)

Heat the milk, sugar, and salt together in a small saucepan over medium heat until bubble form at the edge and the sugar dissolves. Whisk in vanilla, half and half, and heavy cream. Chill in the refrigerator for 30 minutes. Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

When the ice cream is done, fold in the cookie chunks with a rubber spatula until they are all evenly dispersed throughout. Transfer to an airtight container and freeze until solid. Or eat it fresh if you prefer!

Makes approximately 4 quarts.

4 thoughts on “cookies and cream ice cream

  1. Ahhhh! Looks so good! Thanks for posting the recipe. The ingredients sound perfect for homemade ice cream. I totally vote for coffee flavor. There is a place called Johnny Rockets that has a coffee flavored milk shake and it is AMAZING! Do it, Maci!

Leave a Reply

