gluten free chocolate cookies

chocolate-cookies-01As I plodded through my “Foundations of Education” textbook this afternoon, reading about the Sophists and Socrates and Plato and Aristotle and all of their different approaches to education, my mind wandered. I was 30 minutes away from being done for the day, but my mind was obviously ready to get a head start on the weekend.

First it (my mind) wandered to chocolate. (Obviously.) From there it wandered to ice cream. (Nothing new here.) Following a highly logical pattern, it wandered to chocolate cookies in vanilla ice cream. Cookies and cream!

As you see, so far I’ve only been able to do the chocolate cookie part of this idea, but I have high hopes that I’ll be able to churn some vanilla ice cream tomorrow. I plan on just chopping several cookies into small chunks and folding them into the ice cream. I’ll report back on how that goes :) (Really, though… could it go wrong?) In the meantime I’m going to try not to eat too many of these little things plain. With Arnold Palmers.

I debated on whether or not to share the recipe for the cookies here before I had a chance to experiment with the ice cream, but these are so tasty and versatile on their own!

chocolate-cookies-02Cookie recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen; GF flour* ratio from Minimalist Baker

3/4 cup (105 grams) brown rice flour
1/4 cup (48 grams) potato starch
2 tablespoons (15 grams) tapioca starch
2 tablespoons (20 grams) white rice flour
1/2 cup (45 grams) unsweetened Dutch-processed cocoa powder (like Hershey’s Special Dark)
3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
1 large egg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and position a rack in the middle of the oven. (I rarely bake two trays of anything at once. I always do shifts.) Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

In the bowl of a food processor, combine the flours, starches, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt until well-mixed. Add the butter and pulse until thoroughly combined. Add the egg and pulse again, until the dough comes together.

Using a small cookie scoop (I have the #2530 Small Scoop from Pampered Chef) or a very flat tablespoon, scoop balls onto the baking sheet, keeping about 2 inches between each cookie. With slightly wet fingers, press the cookies gently to flatten slightly. Bake for 9-10 minutes. Cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet, then transfer to a wire rack and repeat the baking process with the remaining dough.

You can eat the cookies plain, follow Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for homemade Oreos if that’s your thing, eat the cookies plain, crumble them into homemade vanilla ice cream as I plan to do, eat the cookies plain, etc.

Makes about 36 cookies.

*If you’re not gluten free, you can absolutely just use 1 1/4 cups plain flour. The rice flours lend these cookies a slightly gritty texture… if it means they’re gluten-free, I’m totally fine with it, but your opinion might differ.

5 thoughts on “gluten free chocolate cookies

  1. I just made these, and they are RICH and very good! I think calling them “gritty” might scare people, though …. “Gritty” invokes the unpleasantness of sand between your teeth, which these are NOT. The texture is more “loose” than gritty. More airy than a normal cookie, with a definite texture of a larger-grained flour (which brown rice flour simply IS), but not “gritty”. A+, will make again!

    • Thanks! I appreciate you taking the time to comment with your thoughts! I know exactly what you are saying about the texture… I chose that word since someone unfamiliar with brown rice flour or trying it for the first time might find the difference in texture (versus all-purpose) displeasing, and I wanted to make sure that I gave a full disclosure :) Glad you enjoyed them!!

  2. I just made these but substituted some ingredients to make them lower in fat. They are fantastic!
    I used Bobs Red Mill GF All Purp Flour and tsp arrowroot pwdr. In lieu of butter used half plain greek yogurt and half brumel & brown, egg substitute, half reg sugar, half splenda blend. Love them! Great for chocolate craving!

Leave a Reply

