chocolate frozen yogurt with caramelized bananas

frozen-yogurt-02On the day of a major test, I can think of two obvious ways a person could spend their time leading up to said test.

Choice 1: Study.

Choice 2: Make ice cream.

I had a test to take this afternoon. And clearly, I chose the latter correct option for my morning.

caramelized-bananas-01I’ve been wanting to make frozen yogurt since I pinned this recipe forever ago (story of my life). I’m already convinced that homemade ice cream is pretty much the best thing on the planet, and now I know that its cousin, homemade frozen yogurt, is just as amazing. Plus, if this was an item at Trader Joe’s, it might be labeled “Reduced-Guilt”. I mean, how could you not try it?? All I know is that I’ll be doubling my next batch. For sure.

As far as I’m concerned, this stuff might as well be ice cream, except for the tanginess that sets it apart as Greek yogurt. It’s just as creamy, just as delicious, just as cooling and refreshing.

frozen-yogurt-01P.S. In case you find yourself doubting the validity of my test-taking wisdom- I passed. So clearly, this works. Trust me. Make ice cream… or in this case, frozen yogurt :)

Recipe ever-so-slightly adapted from Food & Wine

1 tablespoon butter
2 large ripe bananas, sliced into 1″ rounds
2 tablespoons light brown sugar
1 tablespoon dark rum
1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons 2% milk, divided
3 tablespoons Dutch-processed cocoa powder
2/3 cup granulated sugar
Pinch of salt (my pinches are super generous, so I probably used 1/8 teaspoon :))
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups nonfat Greek yogurt
2 ounces dark chocolate, melted

In a medium skillet over medium heat, melt the butter. Place the bananas in the butter in one layer and sprinkle the brown sugar over the top.

Cook the bananas for about 4-5 minutes on each side. Turn off the heat and pour in the rum. Swirl the bananas around in the pan until the sugar is melted.

While the bananas are caramelizing, whisk the cocoa powder, granulated sugar, and salt together in a medium-sized mixing bowl. Whisk in the remaining milk, vanilla extract, and Greek yogurt.

Puree three-quarters of the bananas with 3 tablespoons of milk in a food processor. Chop the remaining bananas and chill in a small bowl. Whisk the banana puree into the chocolate yogurt mixture. Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

When the frozen yogurt is done processing, use a spatula to fold in the remaining bananas and swirl in the melted chocolate. Transfer the yogurt to an airtight container and freeze until firm.

Makes about 1 quart of frozen yogurt.

{ Please forgive the melty frozen yogurt in the photos… frozen desserts and summer weather don’t mix very well in photography }

One thought on “chocolate frozen yogurt with caramelized bananas

Leave a Reply

